The author of the article discovered that Google Chrome exempts Google-owned sites from the setting to automatically delete site data when all windows are closed. This issue was previously reported and fixed six years ago, but it seems to have resurfaced. The author tested this on two different Macs with Chrome version 152.0.7977.83 and found that Google site data persists even after closing all windows and quitting Chrome. The author suggests that Google should improve its QA to avoid such issues.