Apple has released a silent update for Mac users to remove a vulnerable component in Zoom, a popular video conferencing app, which allowed websites to automatically add a user to a video call without their permission. The update removes a hidden web server that Zoom installed on users' Macs when they installed the app. This server remained installed even if a user uninstalled Zoom and could reinstall the app without user interaction. The update will now prompt users if they want to open the app, whereas before it would open automatically.